The Duke Robillard Band is about to release a new CD, “They Called It Rhythm & Blues”


Stony Plain Records announces a March 18 release date for They called it Rhythm & Bluesthe exciting new CD from the two-time Grammy nominee and multi-time Blues Music Award-winning guitarist Duke Robillard. The new album will also be released on vinyl on August 5. Joining the guitar maestro (who also produced) on They Called It Rhythm & Blues is an all-star cast of special guests, including John Hammond, Kim Wilson, Sue Foley, Sugar Ray Norcia, Michelle Willson, Chris Cote, Bruce Bears, Marty Ballou, Mark Teixeira, Doug James, Mike Flanigin, Mark Earley, Doug Woolverton and Matt McCabe.

The Duke Robillard Band will celebrate the release of the new album with two special shows in March: The Narrows in Fall River, Mass. on March 25 and The Center for the Arts in Natick, Mass. March 26.

Duke Robillard has been defined not only as a great artist, but also as a true historian, scholar and curator adept at electric and acoustic blues, jazz, jump, swing, ballads and standards. He proves it with the fluidity he demonstrates on this album which visits the music that defined what has come to be called “Rhythm & Blues”. Grammy-nominated and five-time Blues Music Award winner for best guitarist, over his more than 50-year career, Duke has been a prolific songwriter and is considered a master of the blues guitar.

Duke Robillard is full of praise for his special guests on They called it Rhythm & Blues and the magic they helped create in the studio. “I have to say that I couldn’t be happier with the outcome of the sessions for this album. It’s just a damn good representation of my band, the guest artists and the music we chose to record. I also added some of my own songs written for the occasion, and that makes a pretty complete set, I think.

“Chris Cote, who took over most of my band’s vocals from our Blues Bash CD, has been a great addition to the band. He’s a powerful singer who can literally sing anything. Her fiery six vocals give the album a pretty high bar to start with. And he’s a great guitarist too!

“I’ve worked with Doug James since the early 70’s and he spent several years as a member of the DRB. On many tracks here Doug is the whole horn section. He’s done an amazing job and thanks to use of the right ribbon mic by engineer Graham Mellor, Mister Low’s sound was captured like never before.

“Mark Earley and Doug Woolverton also added great depth to the tracks on which they played saxophone and trumpet. As far as guest vocals go, I was fortunate to have so many great artists help out. John Hammond, whom I’ve called my friend since the 1970s and who I’ve toured extensively with and recorded with and co-produced on his album Found True Love. Recording with John is always a pleasure. On this session, once we had sounds, it was playing live and killing it in a take or two. Part of the reason for doing more than one take was to prolong the joyous experience. John is always active and it’s always a pleasure extreme to play with.

“There was a Mickey and Sylvia track that I always wanted to do called ‘No Good Lover’, and Sue Foley was quick to accept the track and the idea of ​​recording it with me. I wrote a tribute instrument to Bill Jennings, Billy Butler, Bill Doggett and Wild Bill Davis and Sue and Mike Flanigin agreed to record both tracks remotely in Austin, TX I’m really excited by how they came out of and ‘No Good Lover’ will be our first video for the album!

“Former Thunderbird-era bandmate Kim Wilson was up for a guest and we picked two of his early tracks that he originally recorded with the T-Birds. I’m so damn glad the result personally! Kim kills both tunes like he always does – of course. Matt McCabe plays piano on “Tell Me Why.”

“Michelle Willson, aka ‘The Evil Gal’, gladly added her expertise to two tracks that show off her R&B rock side with ‘Champagne Mind’ and her very deep blues side with her amazing reading of ‘Trouble in Mind’.

“I’ve known Sugar Ray Norcia for too many decades to count and anyone who’s a real fan of deep Chicago and also Jumpin’ R&B knows he’s one of the heaviest cats as a singer and as a giant of the blues harmonica. Ray’s rendition of Tampa Red’s “Rambler Blues,” which originally had Big Walter Horton on harp, was the perfect vehicle for Ray to pay homage to his old friend Big Walter. Ray suggested “She’s My Baby” by Jimmy Nelson, which I didn’t know, but it was really a great choice! Again Ray found a way to make his harp fit the melody perfectly and again there are echoes of the great Big Walter here, but at the same time it’s pure Sugar Ray!

The Music of Duke Robillard:

Duke Robillard – guitars, vocals

Chris Cote – vocals

Bruce Bears – piano, organ

Marty Ballou – acoustic and electric bass

Mark Teixeira – drums

Doug James – baritone and tenor sax

“Robillard is a soloist of astonishing strength and originality” – The New York Times

“Almost everything Duke Robillard has done as a guitarist over the past four decades is testament to his musical intelligence and dedication to his craft.” – DownBeat

They called it Rhythm & Blues CD track listing

1. Here I’m Is – Chris Cote – vocals

2. No Good Lover – Duke Robillard – vocals; Sue Foley – vocals and guitar; Mike Flanigin – organ

3. Fools are getting rarer – Chris Cote – vocal

4. Tell Me Why – Kim Wilson – vocals and harmonica; Matt McCabe – piano

5. Rambler Blues – Sugar Ray Norcia – voice and harmonica

6. The Way You Do – Chris Cote – vocal

7. Champagne Mind – Michelle Willson – vocals

8. Homeless Blues – John Hammond – vocals and guitar

9. Outta Here – Duke Robillard – vocals, Anita Suhanin – vocals

10. In The Wee Wee Hours – Chris Cote – vocals

11. Someday After Awhile – Chris Cote – vocals

12. She’s My Baby – Sugar Ray Norcia – vocals and harmonica

13. Trouble In Mind – Michelle Willson – vocals

14. No Place To Go – John Hammond – vocals and guitar

15. The Things I Forgot to Do – Kim Wilson – voice

16. I Can’t Understand It – Chris Cote – vocal

17. Eat Where You Slept Last Night – Duke Robillard – vocal

18. Swingin’ For Four Bills – Duke Robillard, Sue Foley – guitar; Mike Flanigin – organ


Comments are closed.